Dr Rod Carr - Chairperson

Dr Carr has extensive experience in both public and private sector governance and leadership. He served as Chair and non-executive director of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand and served as Deputy Governor and for a time Acting Governor of the Bank. Dr Carr was the founding Chair of the National Infrastructure Advisory Board and for over a decade was a non-executive director of the Canterbury Employers’ Chamber of Commerce. He led the University of Canterbury as Vice Chancellor for ten years before retiring in February 2019 having completed the recovery from the 2010 and 2011 earthquakes.

Rod holds a PhD in Insurance and Risk Management, an MA in Applied Economics and Managerial Science, an MBA in Money and Finance and honours degrees in law and economics. His real-world experience, academic training and breadth of experience provide an excellent background for the critical task in taking a leadership position in leading climate change mitigation and adaptation.

Professor Nicola Shadbolt

Professor Shadbolt is a farmer, forester, director and academic who brings an important mix of real-world business experience and research to the Commission. As the recently appointed Chairperson of Plant and Food Research and former Director of Fonterra Cooperative Group and Transit New Zealand, Professor Shadbolt also has a strong understanding of governance leadership. She is equipped with a wide range of experience, from farm to fork, including manufacturing ingredients and fast-moving consumer goods. Her additional knowledge in quick-service restaurants and the high-end food service provides Nicola a proven record in implementing sustainability in businesses and a keen appreciation of how environmental management fits alongside social and economic imperatives.

Ms Lisa Tumahai - Deputy Chairperson

Ms Tumahai's prior experience as Deputy Chairperson of the ICCC will help bring continuity to the work of the Commission.

Ms Tumahai is a leader within Ngāi Tahu and has a unique insight about how to mobilise an entity towards strategies and targets.

Ms Tumahai also has established relationships with iwi and Māori and will help to ensure the broader Commission has a greater understanding of te ao Māori perspectives.

Ms Catherine Leining

Ms Leining is one of New Zealand’s leading experts on climate change mitigation policy with a specialisation in emissions trading. As a Policy Fellow at Motu Economic and Public Policy Research since 2013, she co-led Motu’s research and engagement programme on “Shaping New Zealand’s Low-Emission Future.” She has held policy positions at the Ministry for the Environment, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Wellington City Council and New Zealand Transport Agency. In government roles, she helped design the NZ ETS and served on the New Zealand delegation to the UNFCCC negotiations.

Before moving to New Zealand, she held diverse policy positions in the US. She provides independent consulting through Silver Lining Global Solutions and was trained as a Climate Leader under The Climate Reality Project launched by Al Gore. She holds a BS in biology (with distinction) and French from Duke University. As a Commissioner, Ms Leining will help ensure the organisation considers the broadest range of policy tools and mechanisms available to reduce emissions.

Dr Harry Clark

Dr Clark is an internationally recognised science leader in greenhouse gases research. He is well regarded in the primary sector both from a science and agri-business perspective.

As a member of the ICCC, Dr Clark has been heavily involved in the delivery and oversight of reports and will bring a strong sense of continuity to the broader climate community and secretariat during the transition from the ICCC to the Commission.

Professor James Renwick

Professor James Renwick is a leading climate scientist with a strong national and international reputation, having four decades of experience in weather and climate research. His appointment as a Lead Author and Coordinating Lead Author on three Assessment Reports of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) demonstrates his expertise in climate and atmospheric science. He has also been involved in the governance of the World Climate Research Programme for the past eight years.

Professor Renwick is a well-known science communicator, engaging with a wide variety of stakeholders and public groups, and appearing regularly in the media on climate-related topics. He was awarded the 2018 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science Communication.

Dr Judy Lawrence

Dr Lawrence is a thought leader on climate change adaptation with a strong national and international reputation. Judy’s expertise is reflected in having been appointed as a Coordinating Lead Author with the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). She has developed extensive networks across central and local government and served as an elected member of a regional council. Judy is a multi-disciplinary team player set between climate change science and national mitigation and adaptation policy.

Dr Lawrence’s experience will make a valuable contribution to the Commission ensuring the organisation has both expertise in, and a focus on, climate change adaptation.

Jo Hendy - Chief Executive

Jo Hendy led the Secretariat team of the Interim Climate Change Committee and oversaw the Committee’s inquiry into renewable electricity. Jo comes to the Commission with over a decade of leadership experience in climate change-related issues. In her former role as Director of Research and Analysis for the Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment, she oversaw independent environmental investigations into issues including sea-level rise and agricultural greenhouse gas emissions. She also led the team investigating the establishment of a new climate commission.

Jo also has a technical background in economic modelling and spent seven years working for Motu Economic and Public Policy Research. She studied mathematics, physics and economics and holds a BSc (Hons) in Mathematics, and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Science (Meteorology).