• December 2019 - The Climate Change Commission was established under the Climate Change Response (Zero Carbon) Amendment Act. 

    Our Commissioners were announced by the Minister for Climate Change, Hon James Shaw.

  • November 2019 - New Zealand passes the Zero Carbon Bill with cross-party support in government.  

    The ICCC begins work on establishing the Climate Change Commission. This included calls for evidence, establishment of technical reference groups, establishing contracts to develop economy wide models, and building the capability and capacity of the organization. 

  • July 2019 - After releasing its reports to the government, the ICCC made its reports public - Action on Agriculture Emissions and Accelerated Electrification

  • April 2018 - The Minister for Climate Change Hon James Shaw announced the membership of the Interim Climate Change Committee, a Ministerial Advisory Committee which provided advice regarding Emissions Trading Schemes and the transition to 100% renewable electricity. 

  • December 2017 - Government consultation on the Zero Carbon Bill takes place. Cabinet agrees to the establishment of an Interim Climate Change Committee.  

  • 2015 - Aotearoa joins 195 other countries in adopting the Paris Agreement, which for the first time brings all countries into efforts to take action on climate change. 

  • 2002 - Climate Change Response Act puts in place a legal framework to enable New Zealand to meet its international obligations under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change and the Kyoto Protocol.

  • 1997 - The international community concludes the Kyoto Protocol, setting binding greenhouse gas emissions reduction targets for industrialised countries including Aotearoa.
  • 1992 - Aotearoa signs the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) at the Rio Earth Summit, acknowledging that human activities contribute to climate change and recognising climate change as an issue of global concern.