Our People

We are an interdisciplinary team of experts committed to climate action in Aotearoa

Our People

We are a small team, supported by a board of seven commissioners. We are here because we are dedicated to ensuring we can pass a better Aotearoa on to future generations. From economics to science and public policy and emissions trading our team’s backgrounds vary widely.

Our board members come from varying fields such as adaptation, agriculture, economics, mātauranga and the Māori-Crown relationship. You can read more about our Board and Chief Executive below.

Dr Rod Carr, Chairperson

Dr Rod Carr, Chairperson

Dr Carr has extensive experience in both public and private sector governance and leadership. He served as Chair and non-executive director of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand and served as Deputy Governor and for a time Acting Governor of the Bank. Dr Carr was the founding Chair of the National Infrastructure Advisory Board and for over a decade was a non-executive director of the Canterbury Employers’ Chamber of Commerce. He led the University of Canterbury as Vice Chancellor for ten years, and holds a PhD in Insurance and Risk Management, an MA in Applied Economics and Managerial Science, an MBA in Money and Finance and honours degrees in law and economics.

Ms Lisa Tumahai, Deputy Chairperson

Ms Lisa Tumahai, Deputy Chairperson

Ms Tumahai's prior experience as Deputy Chairperson of the ICCC brings continuity to the work of the Commission. Lisa is a leader within Ngāi Tahu and has a unique insight about how to mobilise an entity towards strategies and targets. She also has established relationships with iwi and Māori and will help to ensure the broader Commission has a greater understanding of te ao Māori perspectives.

Jo Hendy, Chief Executive

Jo Hendy, Chief Executive

Jo Hendy led the Secretariat of the Interim Climate Change Committee and oversaw the Committee’s inquiry into renewable electricity. In her former role as Director of Research and Analysis for the Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment, she led independent environmental investigations into issues including sea-level rise and agricultural greenhouse gas emissions. Jo also spent seven years working for Motu Economic and Public Policy Research. She holds a BSc (Hons) in Mathematics, and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Science (Meteorology).

Dr Harry Clark, Commissioner

Dr Harry Clark

Dr Clark is an internationally recognised science leader in greenhouse gases research. He is well regarded in the primary sector both from a science and agri-business perspective. As a member of the ICCC, Dr Clark was heavily involved in the delivery and oversight of reports and brings a strong sense of continuity to the broader climate community and Commission.

Dr Judy Lawrence, Commissioner

Dr Judy Lawrence

Dr Lawrence is a strong international thought leader on climate change adaptation. Judy’s expertise is reflected in having been appointed as a Coordinating Lead Author with the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). She has developed extensive networks across central and local government and served as an elected member of a regional council. Judy is a multi-disciplinary team player set between climate change science and national mitigation and adaptation policy.

Ms Catherine Leining, Commissioner

Ms Catherine Leining

Ms Leining is one of New Zealand’s leading experts on climate change mitigation policy with a specialisation in emissions trading. As a Policy Fellow at Motu Economic and Public Policy Research, she co-led Motu’s research programme on “Shaping New Zealand’s Low-Emission Future.” She has held policy positions at the Ministry for the Environment and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Before moving to New Zealand, she held policy positions in the US. She provides consulting through Silver Lining Global Solutions and was trained as a Climate Leader under The Climate Reality Project launched by Al Gore.

Professor James Renwick, Commissioner

Professor James Renwick

Professor James Renwick is a leading climate scientist with a strong national and international reputation, and four decades of experience in weather and climate research. His appointment as a Lead Author and Coordinating Lead Author on three Assessment Reports of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) demonstrates his expertise. He has also been involved in the governance of the World Climate Research Programme for the past eight years. He was awarded the 2018 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science Communication.

Professor Nicola Shadbolt, Commissioner

Professor Nicola Shadbolt

Professor Shadbolt is a farmer, forester, director and academic. As the recently appointed Chairperson of Plant and Food Research and former Director of Fonterra Cooperative Group and Transit New Zealand, Professor Shadbolt has a strong understanding of implementing sustainability in businesses and a keen appreciation of how environmental management fits alongside social and economic imperatives.