We are a Crown entity established under the Climate Change Response (Zero Carbon) Amendment Act. Our Commissioners were announced by the Minister for Climate Change, Hon James Shaw, on 17 December 2019.


We provide independent, evidence-based advice to Government to help Aotearoa New Zealand transition to a low-emissions and climate-resilient economy. 

We also monitor and review Government’s progress towards our emissions reduction and adaptation goals.

On February 10 2020, we provided a written submission to the Environment Committee on the Climate Change Response (Emissions Trading Reform) Amendment Bill 2019. The submission can be found here.


Dr Rod Carr (Chairperson)

Dr Carr’s PhD in insurance and risk management, alongside his work leading the University of Canterbury through the earthquake recovery period, are excellent background for the incredibly important work that needs to be done in leading climate change resilience and adaptation.

Dr. Carr has also served as Deputy Governor and Chair of the Reserve Bank, so has strong governance experience, which will be much needed as Chair of the Commission.

Professor Nicola Shadbolt

Professor Shadbolt is a farmer and academic, who will bring an important mix of real-world business experience and research to the Commission.

As the recently appointed Chairperson of Plant and Food Research and former Director of Fonterra Cooperative Group, Professor Shadbolt also offers a strong understanding of governance leadership. Her experience will assist the Commission to consider the contribution and effects that land use and land-use change might have in the reduction of emissions.

Ms Lisa Tumahai (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Tumahai's prior experience as Deputy Chairperson of the ICCC will help bring continuity to the work of the Commission.

Ms Tumahai is a leader within Ngāi Tahu and has a unique insight about how to mobilise an entity towards strategies and targets.

Ms Tumahai also has established relationships with iwi and Māori and will help to ensure the broader Commission has a greater understanding of te ao Māori perspectives.

Ms Catherine Leining

Ms Leining is one of New Zealand’s leading economists on climate policy and has a strong understanding of the Emissions Trading Scheme (ETS).

She is a genuine thought leader, as demonstrated by her role as a policy fellow at Motu.

As a Commissioner, Ms Leining will help to ensure the Commission considers the broadest range of policy tools and mechanisms by which emissions reductions can be made.

Dr Harry Clark

Dr Clark is an internationally recognised science leader in greenhouse gases research. He is well regarded in the primary sector both from a science and agri-business perspective.

As a member of the ICCC, Dr Clark has been heavily involved in the delivery and oversight of reports and will bring a strong sense of continuity to the broader climate community and secretariat during the transition from the ICCC to the Commission.

Professor James Renwick

Professor Renwick is a leading climate scientist with a strong national and international reputation. His expertise in climate and atmospheric science is demonstrated by his appointment as a Lead Author within the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).

Professor Renwick is a true climate change leader and is comfortable leading large groups of technical contributors to consensus as well as engaging with a wide variety of stakeholders and groups.

Dr Judy Lawrence

Dr Lawrence is a thought leader with extensive international expertise in climate change adaptation. She has been involved in the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and also has experience across local government, having been elected member of a regional council.

Dr Lawrence will make a valuable contribution to the Commission, in particular by ensuring the Commission has both expertise in, and a focus on, climate change adaptation.


Climate Change Commission Secretariat

Level 21, 1 Willis Street

Wellington 6011

PO Box 24448

Wellington 6142